Weblogic 12c Features

Weblogic 12c Features

Today we will be discussing what are Weblogic 12c Features and its usage.

Hope this will help you in clearing Weblogic 12c Implementation Specialist Certification.

Oracle Web Logic is a server software application that runs on a middle tier, between back-end databases and related applications an browser-based thin clients. Web Logic is a leading e-commerce online transaction processing (OLTP) platform, developed to connect users in a distributed computing environment and to facilitate the integration of mainframe applications with distributed corporate data and applications.

Web Logic server is based on Java2 Platform, Enterprise Edition (J2EE), the standard platform used to create Java-based multi-tier enterprise applications.

Oracle Web Logic Server 12c is the industry’s best application server for building and deploying enterprise Java EE applications with support for new features for lowering cost of operations, improving performance, enhancing scalability and supporting the Oracle Applications portfolio.

Weblogic Components:

  1. Domain: An Oracle WebLogic Server administration domain is a logically related group of Oracle WebLogic Server resources. Domains include a special Oracle WebLogic Server instance called the Administration Server, which is the central point from which you configure and manage all resources in the domain. Usually, you configure a domain to include additional Oracle WebLogic Server instances called Managed Servers. You deploy Web applications, EJBs, Web Services, and other resources onto the Managed Servers and use the Administration Server for configuration and management purposes only.
  2. Node Manager: Server instances in a WebLogic Server production environment are often distributed across multiple domains, machines, and geographic locations. Node Manager is a WebLogic Server utility that enables you to start, shut down, and restart Administration Server and Managed Server instances from a remote location. Although Node Manager is optional, it is recommended if your WebLogic Server environment hosts applications with high availability requirements. A Node Manager process is not associated with a specific WebLogic domain but with a machine. You can use the same Node Manager process to control server instances in any WebLogic Server domain, as long as the server instances reside on the same machine as the Node Manager process. Node Manager must run on each computer that hosts WebLogic Server instances—whether Administration Server or Managed Server—that you want to control with Node Manager. WebLogic Server provides two versions of Node Manager, Java-based and script-based, with similar functionality. However, each version has different configuration and security considerations.
  3. Administration Server: The Administration Server operates as the central control entity for the configuration of the entire domain. It maintains the domain’s configuration documents and distributes changes in the configuration documents to Managed Servers. You can also use the Administration Server as a central location from which to monitor all resources in a domain.
  4. Managed server: To prevent the Administration Server from becoming a single point of failure, Managed Servers can always function without the presence a running Administration Server. When a Managed Server starts, it contacts the Administration Server to retrieve its configuration information. If a Managed Server is unable to connect to the specified Administration Server during startup, it can retrieve its configuration directly by reading a copy of the config.xml file and other files located on the Managed Server’s own file system.
  5. Cluster: A WebLogic Server cluster consists of multiple WebLogic Server server instances running simultaneously and working together to provide increased scalability and reliability. A cluster appears to clients to be a single WebLogic Server instance. The server instances that constitute a cluster can run on the same machine, or be located on different machines. You can increase a cluster’s capacity by adding additional server instances to the cluster on an existing machine, or you can add machines to the cluster to host the incremental server instances. Each server instance in a cluster must run the same version of WebLogic Server.

A cluster is defined as a group of application servers that transparently run a J2EE application as if it were a single entity.  There are two methods of clustering:  vertical scaling and horizontal scaling


Weblogic server Life Cycle:

Starting state: During the starting state that instances ready the domain configuration data from its configuration directory. Where as the Manager server will get their configuration data from Admin server. It is in this state that the instance the basic services such as the kernal and execute queues, the container service for logging and Node manager service. The server also deploy during this phase.

Stand by: In this state the server Instance will allow you to issue just to administrative requests. You can me the server state either running or shutdown state. Normally the server instance will automatically transition through the stand by state to next stage unless you start the instance with the start in stand by command.

Note: All ports are closed in this stat. But you can quickly transition to a running state.

Admin mode: The admin mode permits only Administrative task, deploying applications with those applications being able to only request from users with the admin and Apptester roles. Running a server in admin mode is also useful when trying to diagnose problems with application gone badly.

Note: servers will run in admin mode when there is problem with deployed application or JDBC connection pool. –> we can resume the server from Admin state to resume state.

Resuming state:

This is purely transitional state the server instance goes through after it transitions automatically through Admin state or you issue the resume command after first placing the instance in the stand by or Admin state. You can do this state change from command line or through the Admin console.

Running state:

This is off course final state the server instance reaches after you either issue a startup command or resume command to move the server out of the Admin or stand by state. It is in the running state that the server can accept the service client request for it services.

Weblogic 12c Features:

Please find below the list of Weblogic 12c Features:

  1. Multitenancy Support
  2. Continuous Availability
  3. Resource Consumption Management
  4. Elasticity for Dynamic Clusters
  5. RESTful Management Services
  6. Named Concurrent Edit Sessions
  7. WebLogic Management Framework
  8. WebLogic is certified with Docker containers

Related Posts:


Multitenancy Support

Continuous Availability

Elasticity for Dynamic Clusters

RESTful Management Services

Named Concurrent Edit Sessions